Rene Rast fought back from a poor start to take the 2017 DTM title, as Marco Wittmann was victorious in the final race of the season at Hockenheim.

The 30-year-old German became the fi rst rookie to become DTM champion since Alfa Romeo driver Nicola Larini in 1993.

Rast arrived at the chequered fl ag three seconds behind race winner Wittmann and three ahead of Audi’s fourth title hopeful Mike Rockenfeller, who had only an outside shot at the crown.

Gary Paffett was the top Mercedes in fourth, closely followed by fellow Briton Green, and the BMWs of Maxime Martin and Augusto Farfus.

The top 10 was completed by Mattias Ekstrom, Edoardo Mortara and Lucas Auer.

All vehicles in the DTM series use PWR Performance Products.